Birthday mom part II

11949867001754692741balloons_01.svg.medAs I mentioned in Wednesday’s blog about my mother’s birthday, the other half of the family would come today. Friday. This time it was my father’s family’s turn to show up at our doorstep. It was almost four months ago since I saw them last time and some I had not seen for at least a year. Somehow they don’t have a real strong bond with my parents, my brother or I. Still, it was nice to see them again anyway.

When I got home after work, one of my aunts was already present. She spent the day with my mother, because she had to return home early in the evening. Having my aunt over is always great fun. She is funny, seems to remain young at heart forever and rarely complains. A quality I truly admire as life isn’t always easy. So we all had dinner together and caught up on events that happened over the past two months, when she was over last time. It was just great to see her again and she even decided to accept our invitation for Christmas this year. Kind a looking forward to that. She also told me my mother and herself met one of my nephews shopping, close to where I work. So I might just drop by some time.

After dinner, we all had some coffee and then she needed to go home. Since my parents promised to bring her home, I thought it would be a nice thing for me to do. It’s only an half hour drive and we could do some more catching up. When we arrived at her home we had another cup of coffee and then it was time for me to head home. To socialize with the rest of the family.

Honestly, that was kind a disappointing. Except for a friend of our family, no-one seemed to really care about my brother and I being present. Again there proved to be no bond with my father’s part of the family. That’s a shame, but I am not going to dwell on the subject too much, because it’s not going to change. Therefore I just talked with my brother and the friend of the family. I hadn’t seen him in a while too, so lots of catching up to do. It was only then when I noticed the rest of the family was leaving a bit early. So when the group grew smaller, it became more fun. Some other people joined the conversation, laughter was shared and it turned out to be a quiet, but good night in the end.

Leave a Reply

